National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
NIH…Turning Discovery Into Health

Información en Español

Health Topics A-Z

This page is an historical document and contains content that may be out of date.

NCCIH Online Continuing Education Series

Speaker Biosketch for Integrative Medicine

Ralph Snyderman, M.D.

Ralph Snyderman, M.D.

James B. Duke Professor of Medicine in the Duke University School of Medicine

Ralph Snyderman, M.D., is Emeritus Chancellor for Health Affairs at Duke University and James B. Duke Professor of Medicine in the Duke University School of Medicine. From 1989 to 2004, he served as Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine at Duke. During this period, he oversaw the development of the Duke University Health System, one of the most successful integrated academic health systems in the country, and served as its President and Chief Executive Officer.

A graduate of Washington College in Chestertown, Maryland, Dr. Snyderman received his M.D., magna cum laude, from the Downstate Medical Center of the State University of New York. He served his internship and residency in medicine at Duke and later worked as a Public Health Officer doing research in immunology at NIH. Dr. Snyderman began his career at Duke in 1972 as a Howard Hughes Medical Investigator, assistant professor of medicine and immunology, rising to Chief of the Division of Rheumatology and Immunology in 1975. In 1984 he became the Frederic M. Hanes Professor of Medicine and Immunology. His research contributed to the understanding of how white blood cells respond to chemical signals to mediate host defense or tissue damage. In 1987, Snyderman left Duke to join Genentech, Inc. as Senior Vice President for medical research and development. He returned to Duke University in 1989 to serve as Dean of the School of Medicine.

Dr. Snyderman has received numerous honors, among them the CIBA GEIGY Award (1992), the highest prize for lifetime achievement in the field of inflammation research, and the 1993 Bonazinga Award for Excellence in Leukocyte Biology Research (1993). In 1997 he received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Arthritis Foundation (1997), and in 2003 he was the first recipient of the Bravewell Leadership Award for outstanding achievements in the field of integrative medicine. He is a member of the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies and the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

This page last modified September 24, 2017